Gavin Bolton
Mackenzie McCarthy

The Bedford Women’s Club offers scholarships to young men and young women who are high school seniors and residents of Bedford. Each candidate received a minimum of $1,200 that may be applied toward any postsecondary school or training program. The club is pleased to announce the following five awards.

Gavin Bolton, a senior at Kreiva Academy Public Charter School, plans to study film production in college. He has had the opportunity to work individually and in production teams to create a variety of projects. 

May Zheng, the past editor of Unleashed, Bedford High School’s newspaper, is an International Baccalaureate Diploma candidate. During the summer before her senior year she completed a six-week internship through Dartmouth Hospital where she had an opportunity to explore her interest in the medical field.

Elliott Frank, a spirited and talented drum major in the Bedford High School Band, is an International Baccalaureate Diploma candidate, He wants to pursue a career in industrial engineering.

Hasita (Lucky) Kovvuri, active on the Bedford High School Debate Team, is an International Baccalaureate Diploma candidate. Last spring she received the William and Mary Leadership Award.

Mackenzie McCarthy, active in the Derryfield School’s Concert Choir, is a top student in a high-achieving senior class.  She plans to further her education in musical theatre. 

The club scholarship for high school students is named after its 1944 president, Josephine A. Fearon, a former guidance counselor at West High School in Manchester, who established the scholarship for high school seniors. This is the 75th year that the BWC has been giving out scholarships.


For additional information on the Bedford Women’s Club, go to




Betsy Stull and Gabi Maters from the Bedford Women’s Club Scholarship Committee presented scholarships to Hasita (Lucky) Kovvuri, Elliott Frank, May Zheng, Gavin Bolton and Mackenzie McCarthy at the Bedford High School awards ceremony on June 2, 2022.

Gavin Bolton

Mackenzie McCarthy

2022 Scholarship Recipients

The Bedford Women’s Club Awards Scholarships to Five High School Seniors